La Porte girls bowling

La Porte won its first conference title since 2009-10 and will vie for its second consecutive regional berth in Thursday’s sectional. Team members, in no particular order, are Chloe Fisher, Kylee Estes, Cadence King, Kalli Ratz, Chloe Ratz, Kennedy Phelps, Baylie Dilts, Rylie Dilts, Makayla Elkins, Ivyanna Curbelo and Emily Peterson. Head coach is John Thode and assistant coach is Keith Gakle.

It was a perfect storm of sorts, John Thode’s half century of background in bowling, coupled with the combination of young and established La Porte talent.

“I’m more of a technical coach. I work on how to address problems, fundamentals rather than just an overseer,” the Slicers girls coach said. “I’m blessed. I recruited a number of freshmen with advanced skill levels. It’s one of the most pleasant years I’ve had as a coach. They’re very coachable.”

Email: Twitter: @JP8185

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.